Apple Cinnamon Bread

Helloooooooo

School has been alright so far. ODAC has been quite good as well. I have been struggling with  my studies. I always thought that I don’t have time for my tutorials, but turn out I am just procrastinating. hmmmm. Studying is surprisingly quite enjoyable for me.

However, what I really enjoy is baking after all. Spending 1hr kneading the bread was more enjoyable, and therapeutic as well. There were many times when I felt like giving up because my arms were so sore but I have to continue, because if not, the bread will fail. Sounds like life right? Haha!

I really really love this bread and this is one of my favourite bread now. It has the texture of those bread which I have bought outside from those bakery. I was elated and exhilarated!

Other than making this apple cinnamon bread, with the same dough, I made mixed berries bread. Omg. That bread is insane. The whole bread was sticky with the juices that were running from the mixed berries. There were no jam but it tasted as though there was jam. It was not overly sweet because minimal amount of sugar was used to macerate the berries. It was heavenly. However, because they were too soft, I couldn’t take a picture of it, but no worries! I will update you guys soon!

DSC_0937.JPG

dsc_0940

Speaking about this bread, the filling was delicious (Without the apples lol). Without the apples, it was just cinammon sugar butter filling. Its simple because it was so good. I love this combination. Why without the apple? because the recipe I got tasked me to cook the apples in butter only. I guess this is the reason why the flavours of cinammon wasn’t absorbed into the apples. Hence, the apples were flat in terms of flavour.

I made some adjustments to the recipe I got. The bread is mainly 90% adapted from Christine’s tangzhong paibao! After making this bread a few times, I found the perfect ratio to obtain such soft bread.

Here’s the recipe!

For the Tangzhong:
25g bread flour
125ml milk

For the bread:

270g Bread flour
80g All purpose flour
20g Corn Flour
12g Milk Powder
5g Salt
65g Sugar
6g Yeast
120g TangZhong
110ml Milk
30g Whisked Egg
1 large egg yolk
75ml evaporated milk
28g condensed milk
35g softened unsalted butter

For the filling:

1 medium apple
25g butter
1tablespoon cinnamon
50g brown sugar

Instructions:
1. Whisk the bread flour and milk for the tangzhong. Heat it in the microwave for 40s, stir, 40s and stir again. It will be really thick, whisk vigorously to loosen the mixture a little. Leave it aside to cool.

2. Combine all the ingredients except butter for the bread together and start kneading! It took me about 45mins by hand to knead till windowpane. Bread will be quite sticky. When all the ingredients are mixed together, incorporate the butter small pieces by pieces till windowpane is reached.

3. Let it rise in a warm place for 1.5hrs or until it is doubled in size.

4. Punch down the dough and divide the dough into 4 large portions.

Make your filling: Microwave all the ingredients needed for the filling till apples are soft 🙂

5. Oil your rollling pin and your hand (for easier handling of the dough).

6. Roll out the dough until it is 0.3cm thick.

7. Spread your filling. Start rolling from the long side. Once you have a long log,  divide the dough into two and start twisting it as though it is a babka.

8. Place it in the tin and let it rise again (this took me another 1hr)

9. Preheat your oven to 180 degrees celcius and bake it for 15mins.

Okay thats it! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

